Clouds

A-Z April Fantasy Flash Fiction, Part 3. Character: ShaRo

C
Clouds

The world always looked so different, as seen from heights of the sky. Despite the long years of my life, I have never grown bored of it. I suppose I’ve always, quite literally, had my head in the clouds.

ShaRoOuNaiGo they called me, Soul in the Sky. As a border patrol, I spent the overwhelming majority of my time soaring up here on glorious, dragon-like wings, that sprouted from my back. I landed only every few days to report, or if there arose an urgent sighting. As a vampire, this was no unusual feat, and I had been doing this since I turned sixteen. That was thousands of years ago.

Today, the storm clouds, towering high into the atmosphere, and obscuring the landscape below entirely, masked the unfolding of history that had been forced into motion.

The ‘Nōrians had been mounting an army. We had responded with preemptive assassinations. War was declared. The barely 50 years of peace, shaky as it was, collapsed and crumbled into nothingness in a matter of days. Still, 50 years was significant; since many milennia, it was the longest we’ve lasted. I knew, I remembered. There had never even been a mortal lifetime’s worth of peace between us.

A flurry of lightning scurried from one tower of cloud, across to another, and folding my wings, I quickly ducked out of its way. It was not the best idea to fly so low in such weather, but the mission demanded it, and I had enough experience to cope. Today I was to deviate from my usual patrol, using the cover of the clouds, and fly into their airspace to scout the preparations of their forces.

I was nearing the enemy shore. Changes in the air betrayed the land mass. I abruptly retracted my wings, so they disappeared in my back, and launched into a freefall descent, through the thick carpet of cloud. Clouds only looked like soft wool, I had learned on my first flight. They felt like a wet veil when flown through, and left one thoroughly drenched. Nearing the belly of the clouds, I unfurled my wings wide to catch my fall.

The sight that awaited me below was astounding, almost surreal. I saw not the deep blue ocean, but a white sea of sails. The entire ‘Nōrian fleet, it seemed, was on their way southwards. I had never seen such a fast and extensive mobilisation. I wagered nobody ever had. 300 ships, I estimated, and wasted no time to turn back and make haste with the distressing news. To hell with stealth, and designated patrol paths. I stretched my wings as far as they would go, accelerated wtih forceful wingbeats, and whipping up a windstorm behind me, shot into the beginning downpour of rain, riding the roaring wind of the storm, back towards my homeland.

Author: nairama

writer, reader, archer, blogger at The Notorious Southernland

2 thoughts on “Clouds”

Please share your thoughts ^,,^

